Digital Media Students Win 39 ICMA Honors


Buena Vista University won 39 awards, including two major honors, in the Iowa College Media Association’s annual competition held in February. For the third time in four years, KBVU was named Iowa College Radio Station of the Year. KBVU’s BVU senior Blake McMillan also won the coveted First Amendment Award for his work, “Censorship of Art: The First Amendment and the Visual Arts.”

In total, BVU students won 11 first-place awards representing their efforts in the programming of BVTV, KBVU and The Tack.

“We are very proud of what our students and programs in Digital Media have accomplished over the past year,” says Dr. Andrea Frantz, Professor of Digital Media. “BVU students won 39 prizes in a competition that becomes more competitive each year with the addition of other Iowa colleges. Student productions in print/online, multimedia, audio, and video continue to help shape what others in Iowa are doing in this ever-dynamic field.

“Our students can be proud of themselves because they have done so well,” says Jerry Johnson, Assistant Professor of Digital Media. “Students enjoyed seeing these results and it has already sparked several conversations about upcoming projects that will be part of next year’s competition.

Frantz and Johnson presented the student honors at a recent reception at the Lage Communications Center that coincided with the ICMA ceremony held virtually due to COVID-19 concerns.

Here’s a look at the following Iowa College Media Association award winners from BVU’s Digital Media Department:


1st Place – Best Varied Musical Video: Morgan Krull, Hunter Vasey “BVTV Tonight! Gets Canceled ‘Best Friends Forever’”

1st Place – Best Video Sports Broadcast: Daniel Meissner, Clayton Van Horn, Cody Holtgrewe, Rocio Flores-Gonzales and the BVTV team “BVU v. Luther Football, September 25, 2021”

1st Place – Best Promotional Video or Public Service Announcement: Clayton Van Horn, Colin Imhoff, Zach Hess “LaJuanita’s Commercial”

2nd Place — Best Short Film: Zach Hess “Lakeshore Drive”

3rd Place — Best Video News Programming: Joshua Tigges, “AgriVista”

3rd place — Best short film: Zach Hess, Clayton Van Horn “Date Night”

3rd Place – Best Promo Video or Public Service Announcement: Charisma Mendez, Jordyn Daggs-Olson, Clayton Van Horn “Fear Not – Join BVTV”

3rd place — Best experimental video: Clayton Van Horn “BVU v. Luther Football Hype »

3rd Place – Best Corporate Video: Jordyn Daggs-Olson, Nick Henrichs, Evan Grant “BVTV Tour (DIGI Day 2020)”

Honorable Mention – Best Video Sports Broadcast: Daniel Meissner, Clayton Van Horn and the BVTV Team “BVU v. Central College Men’s Basketball March 11, 2021”

Honorable Mention – Best Corporate Video: Autumn McClain, Daniel Meissner, Cody Holtgrewe “KBVU Tour (DIGI Day 2020)”

Honorable Mention — Best Video Documentary Short: Nick Henrichs “365 Fever”


Comments are closed.